Hopi Day School

School Overview

    Grades OfferedGrades KG-6
    Total Studentsn/a
    Hopi Day School Total Students (2009-2011)
    Gender %Hopi Day School Gender
    Total Classroom Teachersn/a
    Hopi Day School Total Teachers (2010-2013)

    School Comparison

    District Comparison

      School District NameKeams Canyon Elementary School District
      Number of Schools
      Managed
      7
      1
      Number of Students Managedn/a325
      Keams Canyon Elementary School District Students Managed (2000-2006)
      School Statewide TestingView Education Department Test Scores
      Source: 2015 (latest year available) NCES, AZ Dept. of Education

      Nearby Public Schools

       All Schools  High Schools High Schools  Middle Schools Middle Schools  Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  Preschools Preschools  Private Schools Private Schools 
      Show me:
      • School Location Miles Grades Students
      • Kykotsmovi VillageRocky Ridge Boarding School
        Grades: KG-8
        0 miles
        Po Box 299
        Kykotsmovi VillageAZ 86039
        (928)725-3650
        0KG-8n/a
      • HotevillaHotevilla Bacavi Community School
        Grades: KG-8
        4.8 miles
        Po Box 48
        HotevillaAZ 86030
        (928)734-2462
        4.8KG-8n/a
      • Second MesaSecond Mesa Day School
        Grades: KG-6
        8.5 miles
        Po Box 98
        Second MesaAZ 86043
        (928)737-2571
        8.5KG-6n/a
      • PolaccaFirst Mesa Elementary School
        Grades: KG-6
        13.4 miles
        Po Box 750
        PolaccaAZ 86042
        (928)737-2581
        13.4KG-6n/a
      • Keams CanyonHopi Junior-senior High School
        Grades: 7-12
        17.7 miles
        Po Box 337
        Keams CanyonAZ 86034
        (328)738-0139
        17.77-12n/a

      School Reviews

        3.50 out of 5  (6 reviews)
      5  5/30/2011
      I think Hopi Day School is a great school, for all parent considering taking your children to this school, I highly recommend it!! Its a great place to learn, they always make sure the children are well taken care of and always keep an eye out for any bad bahavior! I,myself attended this school and now I live in Phoenix, Az and im a nurse for the IHS here. I was in cross country @ this school, i enjoyed it very much. I got along great with all my teachers, they offer tutoring eveyday if you dont understand the subject in class and they work with you and teach you what you need to know or what your struggling with! Hopi Day School is located in Kykotsmovi, they also have buses that go to Hotevilla and to Keams Canyon and everywhere else between so children have no problems getting to school. I hope I met your interest and hope you recommend this school to anyone interested! Thank You and have a great day!!
      - Posted by
      5  11/3/2010
      I worked at Hopi Day School many years and I've never worked for a better principal than Dr. Thomas. He works extremely hard, literally twelve hour days. He does the budgets and always finds money for new equipment and the latest technology. HDS strives to be the best school in academics and the test scores were very strong - with improvements each year. The govenor of the state gave the school an award for its high scores on the SAT. The school is old - a historical landmark actually, but comfortable. Each teacher has an aide, usually Hopi, to teach language and culture. Parental involvement is not high - mostly concerned with sports but things were improving while I was there. If there are any negatives, I believe it's from the community which is sometimes difficult to please. He retired three times and was asked back.
      - Posted by
      2  9/21/2009
      There are some very good and dedicated teachers there, but it could be a better school with a new, younger principal who actually listens to staff and parents.
      - Posted by
      5  9/1/2008
      I was a teacher at Hopi Day School and found John Thomas to be one of the most dedicated principals I've ever worked for. He took a pay cut in order to give the students more. He was the most dedicated principals I've ever encountered over the past decade.
      - Posted by
      2  9/26/2007
      Great teachers and TAs, but lousy principal--JOhn Thomas is an unprincipled liar who lacks integrity, has broken laws, and has seen a number of excellent staff members resign in protest of his actions. He needs to be fired.
      - Posted by
      2  9/26/2007
      Some effective teachers. Good academic program, but very very poor counseling services. Laws are broken (alcohol use) and the principal turns his head. The community wants him out!!!! I wouldn't send my child to this school again until he leaves. He is WAY over the hill, and needs to leave.
      - Posted by

      Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

      • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
      • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities

      I am a:

      Name or Alias:

      Your review:

      Rate this school:
      Recent Articles
      January 01, 2018
      The city of New York has announced they are bringing back mandatory sex-ed courses for the first time in 20 years, in light of skyrocketing teen pregnancy rates far above the national average.
      January 01, 2018
      We’ll look at the many challenges facing schools in New York and New Jersey, as they struggle to get ready for students and balance the ongoing need to provide shelter to those displaced by the storm.
      January 01, 2018
      Students have headed back to school across the country, but are greeted by new security technology and armed security guards. We take a look at Post-Newtown public education.