5801 W Greenbriar Dr
Glendale, AZ 85308
Rating
10/
10
Top 10%
Challenge Charter School serves 459 students in grades Kindergarten-6.
Challenge Charter School placed in the top 10% of all schools in Arizona for overall test scores (math proficiency is top 10%, and reading proficiency is top 10%) for the 2020-21 school year.
The percentage of students achieving proficiency in math is 63% (which is higher than the Arizona state average of 32%) for the 2020-21 school year. The percentage of students achieving proficiency in reading/language arts is 68% (which is higher than the Arizona state average of 39%) for the 2020-21 school year.
Minority enrollment is 40% of the student body (majority Hispanic), which is lower than the Arizona state average of 64% (majority Hispanic).

Quick Stats (2023)

  • School Type: Charter School
  • Grades: Kindergarten-6
  • Enrollment: 459 students
  • Minority Enrollment: 40%
  • Overall Testing Rank
    : Top 10% in AZ
  • Math Proficiency
    : 63% (Top 10%)
  • Reading Proficiency
    : 68% (Top 10%)
  • Source: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), AZ Dept. of Education

Top Rankings

Challenge Charter School ranks among the top 20% of public schools in Arizona for:

Category
Attribute

School Overview

Challenge Charter School's student population of 459 students has declined by 16% over five school years.
School Type
Grades Offered
Grades Kindergarten-6
Total Students
459 students
This chart display total students of Challenge Charter School by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Gender %
This chart display gender of Challenge Charter School
Total Classroom Teachers
n/a
Students by Grade
This chart display the students of Challenge Charter School by grade.

School Rankings

Challenge Charter School is ranked within the top 10% of all 1,854 schools in Arizona (based off of combined math and reading proficiency testing data) for the 2020-21 school year.
The diversity score of Challenge Charter School is 0.59, which is less than the diversity score at state average of 0.65. The school's diversity has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
Definition of Terms 2020-2021 School Year Data
This School
State Level (AZ)
Overall Testing Rank
#113 out of 1854 schools
(Top 10%)
This chart display the overall school rank of Challenge Charter School, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Math Test Scores (% Proficient)
63%
32%
This chart display the percentage of students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Math of Challenge Charter School and the percentage of public school students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Math of public schools in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Reading/Language Arts Test Scores (% Proficient)
68%
39%
This chart display the percentage of students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Reading/Language Arts of Challenge Charter School and the percentage of public school students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Reading/Language Arts of Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Student : Teacher Ratio
n/a
17:1
American Indian
n/a
5%
This chart display the percentage of American Indian students in Challenge Charter School and percentage of American Indian public school students in Arizona by year, with the latest 2006-07 school year data.
Asian
7%
3%
This chart display the percentage of Asian students in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of Asian public school students in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hispanic
22%
46%
This chart display the percentage of Hispanic students in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of Hispanic public school students in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Black
5%
6%
This chart display the percentage of Black students in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of Black public school students in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
White
60%
36%
This chart display the percentage of White students in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of White public school students in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hawaiian
n/a
n/a
Two or more races
6%
4%
This chart display the percentage of students of two or more races in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of public school students of two or more races in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
All Ethnic Groups
This chart display the percentage breakdown of students of all ethnic groups in Challenge Charter School.
This chart display the percentage breakdown of public school students of all ethnic groups in AZ.
Diversity Score
0.59
This chart display the diversity score of Challenge Charter School and the public school average diversity score of Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Eligible for Free Lunch
22%
42%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for free lunch in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for free lunch in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Eligible for Reduced Lunch
4%
9%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for reduced lunch in Challenge Charter School and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for reduced lunch in Arizona by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Source: 2020-2021 (latest school year available) National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), AZ Dept. of Education

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Challenge Charter School's ranking?

Challenge Charter School ranks among the top 20% of public schools in Arizona for: Highest overall rank (Top 10%), Highest math proficiency (Top 10%) and Highest reading/language arts proficiency (Top 10%).

What percent of students have achieved state testing proficiency in math and reading?

63% of students have achieved math proficiency (compared to the 32% AZ state average), while 68% of students have achieved reading proficiency (compared to the 39% AZ state average).

How many students attend Challenge Charter School?

459 students attend Challenge Charter School.

What is the racial composition of the student body?

60% of Challenge Charter School students are White, 22% of students are Hispanic, 7% of students are Asian, 6% of students are Two or more races, and 5% of students are Black.

What grades does Challenge Charter School offer ?

Challenge Charter School offers enrollment in grades Kindergarten-6

What school district is Challenge Charter School part of?

Challenge Charter School is part of Challenge School Inc. School District.

School Reviews

1   8/26/2019
I really don''t have the words. Well, I do but they are not nice ones and mama always said if you don't have anything nice to say, don''t say it at all. So I will just leave a compliment for Jack. He is such a nice guy.
- Posted by Parent - Nope
1   2/25/2017
I agree with the posts that commented on the school involvement with parents. Concerns are usually ridiculed by the administration. Take it or leave it mentality with absurd replies. Academic success is one thing but working with parents is as important.
- Posted by Parent - Tut
5   10/29/2016
My child is in kindergarten at CCS this year. So far we are pleased with the school. The first week was a big transition for us compared to the public half day preschool. All the worksheets and homework seemed like a lot, but we've all adjusted. When I mention all the work he does, it is always a point of pride for him. The school is costly for our budget (school uniforms, lunch fees, all day kindergarten fees, after school elective activities), but it seems to be paying off. I plan on continuing my son's enrollment for first grade.
- Posted by Parent - kdb
5   8/17/2016
I am one of the 2 Founders of CCS and it is very disappointing when you read the "thumbs down" reviews. I can see where some parents have a problem with being held accountable for their role in educating their children and blame the school for their lack of responsibility. Usually the "Lack of help" complaint is backed up with "I am too busy to work with the school for the benefit of my child". Over the last 20 years, parents who want more Parent Involvement usually want to "Change the strong pillars that make this school successful" Such as: "Change the uniform policy so I can save $2.00", without ever understanding how that policy is tied directly to the school's discipline policy and crates a level playing field for every student. As for teachers only getting to stay if they are "friends" with an administrator makes me laugh. Here you have to perform both academically and within the overall school culture. We are team based and expect our employees to make good and safe decisions about school activities, especially where they concern children. And yes we expect our teachers and our students to commit to academic excellence and achievement. If we were only about test scores, how come we are the only elem. school in AZ to be recognized for our Civic Engagement by the AZ Dept. of Education? Why did over 200 parents & students respond to a 4th grade students call to let the City Council know about his (& everyone else's) disappointment when the D.A.R.E. police program was being cut in the City's budget? Why have the 2 teams from Challenge that entered the Honeywell/Fiesta Bowl Aerospace Challenge placed 1st and 2nd in the Statewide competition among hundreds of 6 thru 8 grade teams? This is not a school where the winds of parent discontent change policy, but it is a school that listens to & processes input, and we will implement positive change that is good for kids.
- Posted by Administrator - gmill
5   5/17/2016
Like any school, there will always be parents who love it or have something negative to say. CCS is a great school, and most parents would agree, as it has a long wait list of students hoping to get in. These upset parents must have liked it, too, at one point if they CHOSE it for their student(s). My daughter has had a great experience with wonderful teachers and staff. Parents should remember that if they aren't happy they do have the right to "go someplace else"- which may not mean you are not appreciated, but may mean you don't appreciate what you have. If you come from a district school, be prepared that there are differences- costly uniforms, not as much parent input, etc. But you also get a great school that does not tolerate bullying, poor behavior (from students or parents), and very dedicated teachers.
- Posted by Parent - lkepo
2   8/8/2011
This is a great school if your child is extremely intelligent, but if they need some extra help good luck in getting it. If you take a complaint to the office you will be treated like crap if it's a teacher that is the administrators friend. They have no loyalty to their teachers unless the teacher is also their friend. I know of a few former teachers that were top of the line.Any school would be lucky to have them and Challenge let them go for no good reason. They have no loyalty to parents either. It's all about them and their test scores. Former parent
- Posted by Parent - micke
5   5/25/2009
I agree with the previous two reviews, but I do still think the school has its merits. We've had our son there for 5 years. The academics are great, as well as the teachers. The extracurricular activities are pretty scarce, though. There is no music program. Also, my son wanted to join the computer club, but with a change of technology teacher, the club was disbanded two years ago. The facilities are kept in excellent condition. As for parental involvement, I have spent many hours in the classrooms volunteering over the years. From my own experience, the parents are treated with respect. Because this school is privately owned, the administrators do call the shots. That's not necessarily bad, but it does limit the say of parents. I'm not happy with the decision about the uniforms coming from one source, either. But you have to weigh the importance of it, and we decided that the fine academics override the overpriced uniforms. No school is perfect, and Challenge Charter School is no exception. But the bottom line is this: The administrators of this school have the best interests of our children at heart and do their very best with the limited funding that they get to provide a fine academic environment. My son loves it there and is thriving. He's getting a great academic education with lots of encouragement, and it's all in a safe environment. To me, that's what is important.
- Posted by Parent - dshan
2   4/12/2009
Sadly, I would have to agree with the previous poster about the discouragement of true parental involvement. They have implemented a new uniform policy dictating that all uniforms have to be purchased from one supplier. Many parents tried to comment that the economy is not in a place where parents can afford to pay 2 times more to replace perfectly good uniforms that they already have purchased. Sadly, we were told that the decision was made and it wasn't up for discussion.
- Posted by Parent - dtriz
2   2/23/2009
The academic program is great. The extracurricular activities are limited. Parental involvement is strongly discouraged. There is no PTA and parents are not even allowed to speak at the monthly "School Advisory" meetings. At the last meeting, the founder even yelled at parents wanted to speak and told them to "go somewhere else".
- Posted by Parent - Lonic

Review Challenge Charter School. Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
Rate this school:

Recent Articles

Going Through a Divorce? How to Ensure Your Child's Continued Success in Public Schools
Going Through a Divorce? How to Ensure Your Child's Continued Success in Public Schools
Divorce can be a traumatic experience for children, but by working closely with your children's teachers, you can help maintain their grades and positive behavior at school.
Is Your Public School Understaffed? Why Schools are Instituting Hiring Freezes
Is Your Public School Understaffed? Why Schools are Instituting Hiring Freezes
Learn about how the current budget constraints are prompting public schools to institute hiring freezes - and how this will impact your children.
5 Tips for Helping Your Autistic Child Excel in Public Schools
5 Tips for Helping Your Autistic Child Excel in Public Schools
Learn about five ways you can work with your child's public school, teachers, and special programs to help your autistic child succeed academically.

Quick Stats (2023)

  • School Type: Charter School
  • Grades: Kindergarten-6
  • Enrollment: 459 students
  • Minority Enrollment: 40%
  • Overall Testing Rank
    : Top 10%
  • Math Proficiency
    : 63% (Top 10%)
  • Reading Proficiency
    : 68% (Top 10%)
  • Source: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), AZ Dept. of Education

Related School Videos

Quick Links