1205 Nw Garfield Ave
Corvallis, OR 97330
(School attendance zone shown in map)
Rating
4/
10
Bottom 50%
Garfield Elementary School serves 390 students in grades Kindergarten-5.
Garfield Elementary School placed in the bottom 50% of all schools in Oregon for overall test scores (math proficiency is top 50%, and reading proficiency is bottom 50%) for the 2018-19 school year.
The percentage of students achieving proficiency in math is 37% (which is lower than the Oregon state average of 40%) for the 2018-19 school year. The percentage of students achieving proficiency in reading/language arts is 42% (which is lower than the Oregon state average of 54%) for the 2018-19 school year.
The student:teacher ratio of 16:1 is lower than the Oregon state level of 17:1.
Minority enrollment is 62% of the student body (majority Hispanic), which is higher than the Oregon state average of 40% (majority Hispanic).

Quick Stats (2022-23)

  • Grades: Kindergarten-5
  • Enrollment: 390 students
  • Student:Teacher Ratio: 16:1
  • Minority Enrollment: 62%
  • Overall Testing Rank
    : Bottom 50% in OR
  • Math Proficiency
    : 37% (Top 50%)
  • Reading Proficiency
    : 42% (Btm 50%)
  • Source: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), OR Dept. of Education

School Overview

Garfield Elementary School's student population of 390 students has declined by 10% over five school years.
The teacher population of 25 teachers has declined by 10% over five school years.
Grades Offered
Grades Kindergarten-5
Total Students
390 students
This chart display total students of Garfield Elementary School by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Gender %
This chart display gender of Garfield Elementary School
Total Classroom Teachers
25 teachers
This chart display the total teachers of Garfield Elementary School by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Students by Grade
This chart display the students of Garfield Elementary School by grade.

School Rankings

Garfield Elementary School is ranked within the bottom 50% of all 1,208 schools in Oregon (based off of combined math and reading proficiency testing data) for the 2018-19 school year.
The diversity score of Garfield Elementary School is 0.60, which is more than the diversity score at state average of 0.58. The school's diversity has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
Definition of Terms 2020-2021 School Year Data
This School
State Level (OR)
Overall Testing Rank
#775 out of 1208 schools
(Bottom 50%)
This chart display the overall school rank of Garfield Elementary School, with the latest 2018-19 school year data.
Math Test Scores (% Proficient)
37%
40%
This chart display the percentage of students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Math of Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of public school students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Math of public schools in Oregon by year, with the latest 2018-19 school year data.
Reading/Language Arts Test Scores (% Proficient)
42%
54%
This chart display the percentage of students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Reading/Language Arts of Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of public school students that scored at or above 'proficient' levels in Reading/Language Arts of Oregon by year, with the latest 2018-19 school year data.
Student : Teacher Ratio
16:1
17:1
This chart display the student teacher ratio of Garfield Elementary School and the public school average student teacher ratio of Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
American Indian
2%
1%
This chart display the percentage of American Indian students in Garfield Elementary School and percentage of American Indian public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Asian
1%
4%
This chart display the percentage of Asian students in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of Asian public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hispanic
51%
25%
This chart display the percentage of Hispanic students in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of Hispanic public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Black
1%
2%
This chart display the percentage of Black students in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of Black public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
White
38%
60%
This chart display the percentage of White students in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of White public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hawaiian
n/a
1%
This chart display the percentage of Hawaiian students in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of Hawaiian public school students in Oregon by year, with the latest 2012-13 school year data.
Two or more races
7%
7%
This chart display the percentage of students of two or more races in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of public school students of two or more races in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
All Ethnic Groups
This chart display the percentage breakdown of students of all ethnic groups in Garfield Elementary School.
This chart display the percentage breakdown of public school students of all ethnic groups in OR.
Diversity Score
0.60
This chart display the diversity score of Garfield Elementary School and the public school average diversity score of Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Eligible for Free Lunch
62%
44%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for free lunch in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for free lunch in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Eligible for Reduced Lunch
11%
7%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for reduced lunch in Garfield Elementary School and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for reduced lunch in Oregon by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Source: 2020-2021 (latest school year available) National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), OR Dept. of Education

School Reviews

5   10/14/2017
Garfield Elementary School has an amazing diverse and caring community, of which I am proud to be a part. My children are receiving an excellent education and I am thankful to have this dual immersion school in our community!
- Posted by Parent - Grateful parent
4   10/14/2017
Garfield provides the opportunity for my children to learn the standard k-5 curriculum, PLUS they get to learn Spanish at the same time. The teachers at Garfield make the entire program work - we are so grateful for their devotion to a challenging but ever so important process.
- Posted by Parent - Garfield Mom
4   10/14/2017
Hi! Hola!Our daughter is in her second year at Garfield, as a 2nd grader (2017). She LOVES Garfield - and so do we! The balance between respect, learning, challenge and socio-emotional development are all that I had hoped for when I made the decision to transfer her away from a higher-scoring school to Garfield. The communication with teachers and staff has always worked for us (although being proactive in our daughter's education comes naturally to me - I reach out regularly). The benefits of dual-immersion education is something I believe should be offered to ALL KIDS - ours just happens to be one of the lucky ones, who gets to actually have all of her learning take place seamlessly between Spanish and English. There is no need for translation, the learning just keeps happening. When I hear her jabbering away at home in Spanish (we are an English speaking family) - I know it is working for her. My concern of her being bored due to a lower 'rank' (test score wise) has been completely unfounded, due primarily to the dual-language. All of the kids seems to enjoy being at school - I don't get the sense that there is much school-prompted anxiety. The teachers are caring and attentive to each kids individual needs and the class-sizes are ideal for our current grade. I am so happy to see there is art and music every week this year! There is always room for improvement of course, which is why I ranked it 4 instead of 5 - like we need an updated building and COVERED outdoor play area. I WISH the kids could play outside all year long!!! ~Kudos and Gracias!
- Posted by Parent - grateful & gracias!
4   10/14/2017
This School of the World should be a model for other schools and districts. Instead of marginalizing non-English speakers, it puts everyone in the same boat with learning a language at an early age.
- Posted by Parent - Parent of second grader
5   10/14/2017
My son went through Garfield (now a sophomore in high school and still in the Dual Language Program) and my daughter is now finishing her last year there. After 11 consecutive years as a family at this school I can tell you I would send my children no place else! In addition to being well-prepared for academic challenges (i.e. honors classes beyond elementary school), being supported regarding their special needs, and becoming bilingual, they have both received other very valuable gifts such as learning to value and celebrate diversity, understanding their own privilege, and gaining an awareness that they should promote social justice in the world throughout their lives.
- Posted by Parent - Cathy
5   10/14/2017
Garfield is a warm, kind, inclusive, culturally diverse community of families, teachers, and staff. We are proud to be schooling our kids in a dual immersion environment (Spanish) that prioritizes wellness, sustainability, cultural awareness, and biliteracy. It also has an award-winning bilingual parent teacher organization.
- Posted by Parent - Liv
4   10/14/2017
My son is currently in first grade at Garfield and also attended kindergarten here. Thus far the experience for us has been positive. The teachers have been very supportive of his needs and level of learning. When he was struggling they came up with ways to help him and foster a positive school experience and love of learning. He is also learning Spanish well and enjoys it.
- Posted by Parent - CC
5   10/14/2017
have been impressed by the level of attention and instruction by each teacher and staff at Garfield. I grew up being bilingual and bicultural in English and Spanish in the United States. However, it was because of my household that I grew up this way. I did not grow up in a place that made me feel welcome. At Garfield, my child thrives not only because of the dual language instruction, she thrives because she is able to be herself and be proud of her heritage. Garfield is a place where my daughter's background is celebrated, honored and respected!
- Posted by Parent - MR
1   10/26/2016
Today, 10/13/2016, is the first day of 2016 that I picked up my 3rd grade granddaughter from school. I introduced myself & stated the student I was there for, after I checked in at the office. The female teacher gave eye to eye contact but absolutely no hello or polite recognition. I stood at the door waiting for my granddaughter. During the short time a male student walked by my granddaughter & intentionally shoved a hard book box into her back as he looked at me. I told him to knock it off & that he did that on purpose. He smiled & walked out. The teacher watched the entire incident without a word or any intervention. She & I saw this boy's behavior. To say the least I am NOT impressed with this teacher. Apparently this behavior is condoned. Here is a teacher who observes this and does nothing, leaving me to wonder if the administration has guidelines and polices to hold both teachers and students accountable. Which further leaves me to wonder about the quality of Garfield school in general.
- Posted by Parent - Mrs. Westermeyer
2   10/11/2010
The quality of academics was very poor. The question shouldn't be level of parent involvement it should be school involvement. All they did when he did something wrong, instead of teaching him the right way of doing things, they sent him HOME! All that taught him was what he needed to do to go home. That's it... even if what happened was an accident he went home. I could go on for pages about whats wrong with this school. But all i'll say is that they are not supportive in anyway. DON'T PUT YOUR KID IN THIS SCHOOL.
- Posted by Parent - chell

Review Garfield Elementary School. Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
Rate this school:

Nearby Homes for Sale

Recent Articles

What does the Country's Most Expensive School Look Like?
What does the Country's Most Expensive School Look Like?
Robert F. Kennedy Community Schools win the award for the country’s most expensive campus, clocking in at a price tag of one-half of a billion dollars. Take a walk down the hall to experience the priciest public school in America.
Detroit Schools: District Is Failing Its Students According To Test Scores
Detroit Schools: District Is Failing Its Students According To Test Scores
We report on dismal math and reading test scores of Detroit public school students and what’s being done to bring scores up to par.
Teaching: Using Virtual Reality
August 05, 2022
Teaching: Using Virtual Reality
Virtual Reality can enhance your lessons safely and efficiently. Virtual reality allows your students to explore worlds they might not otherwise see. We offer some suggestions on how to use VR in your classrooom.

Quick Stats (2022-23)

  • Grades: Kindergarten-5
  • Enrollment: 390 students
  • Student:Teacher Ratio: 16:1
  • Minority Enrollment: 62%
  • Overall Testing Rank
    : Bottom 50%
  • Math Proficiency
    : 37% (Top 50%)
  • Reading Proficiency
    : 42% (Btm 50%)
  • Source: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), OR Dept. of Education

Quick Links