Academia Avance Charter serves 293 students in grades 6-12.
Academia Avance Charter placed in the bottom 50% of all schools in California for overall test scores (math proficiency is bottom 50%, and reading proficiency is bottom 50%) for the 2018-19 school year.
The percentage of students achieving proficiency in math is 15-19% (which is lower than the California state average of 40%) for the 2018-19 school year. The percentage of students achieving proficiency in reading/language arts is 30-34% (which is lower than the California state average of 51%) for the 2018-19 school year.
The student:teacher ratio of 21:1 is lower than the California state level of 22:1.
Minority enrollment is 99% of the student body (majority Hispanic), which is higher than the California state average of 78% (majority Hispanic).

School Overview

Academia Avance Charter's student population of 293 students has declined by 25% over five school years.
The teacher population of 14 teachers has declined by 26% over five school years.
School Type
Grades Offered
Grades 6-12
Total Students
293 students
This chart display total students of Academia Avance Charter by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Gender %
This chart display gender of Academia Avance Charter
Total Classroom Teachers
14 teachers
This chart display the total teachers of Academia Avance Charter by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Students by Grade
This chart display the students of Academia Avance Charter by grade.

School Rankings

Academia Avance Charter is ranked within the bottom 50% of all 9,659 schools in California (based off of combined math and reading proficiency testing data) for the 2018-19 school year.
The diversity score of Academia Avance Charter is 0.17, which is less than the diversity score at state average of 0.63. The school's diversity has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
Definition of Terms 2020-2021 School Year Data
This School
State Level (CA)
Overall Testing Rank
#8010 out of 9659 schools
(Bottom 50%)
Math Test Scores (% Proficient)
15-19%
40%
Reading/Language Arts Test Scores (% Proficient)
30-34%
51%
Student : Teacher Ratio
21:1
22:1
This chart display the student teacher ratio of Academia Avance Charter and the public school average student teacher ratio of California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
American Indian
n/a
n/a
Asian
2%
12%
This chart display the percentage of Asian students in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of Asian public school students in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hispanic
91%
56%
This chart display the percentage of Hispanic students in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of Hispanic public school students in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Black
1%
5%
White
1%
22%
This chart display the percentage of White students in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of White public school students in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Hawaiian
n/a
n/a
Two or more races
5%
5%
This chart display the percentage of students of two or more races in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of public school students of two or more races in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
All Ethnic Groups
This chart display the percentage breakdown of students of all ethnic groups in Academia Avance Charter.
This chart display the percentage breakdown of public school students of all ethnic groups in CA.
Diversity Score
0.17
This chart display the diversity score of Academia Avance Charter and the public school average diversity score of California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Graduation Rate
90-94%
84%
Eligible for Free Lunch
87%
53%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for free lunch in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for free lunch in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Eligible for Reduced Lunch
5%
6%
This chart display the percentage of students who is eligible for reduced lunch in Academia Avance Charter and the percentage of public school students who is eligible for reduced lunch in California by year, with the latest 2020-21 school year data.
Source: 2020-2021 (latest school year available) NCES, CA Dept. of Education

School Reviews

5   1/17/2015
Avance has met its expectations in that not only do more than ninety percent of students graduate high school, but also get accepted to big name universities, such as UCLA, UC Berkeley, and USC. Avance is not like traditional public schools; its sovereignty comes at a price. Avance is constantly faced with financial difficulties that often hinder day to day activities such as having an ample supply of textbooks, having a reliable internet connection, or having a limited number of junior varsity and varsity sports programs. Despite these financial constraints, Avance is succeeding in achieving its main goal and rivals that of the large public schools in the local area. I have been loyal to Avance for 6 years because I did not want to be the typical high school dropout story that is all too common in Highland Park. I knew that my parents wanted me to be greater and take advantage of the opportunities that they never had and Avance has granted me those opportunities. My experience at Avance has been unlike any other because of the opportunities that have been given to me as well as the support from the teachers and their dedication to their careers.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/17/2015
Avance: I personally think it's a great school even with its ups and downs. I like how it's a small school so it's easier for the teacher to get to know me. At times, they get me pissed but I understand why they do what they do. I like the clubs here like ASB. I like ASB because it looks good on my college. Going to college is my goal but I don't want to go to state or community college. I want to go to a university. Going to college is Avance's plan and my goal. This is the school that I need to succeed. Yes, at times the rules here can be strict, but still Avance is a great school and I am proud to be a part of it. -D.C., 8th Grade
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/17/2015
I think that Avance is a great school to get a good education. All the Avance staff and teachers will give you more respect than any other school. Avance to one is about meeting new people and have an education to get in a good college. Even though Avance is not perfect like any other school, it gives us a goal to set our minds to to get to a great college to start a new beginning of a better life. My goal is to be at UCLA and thanks to Avance, they'll help me on what to do and be prepared to go to UCLA. That's why to me, avance is a good school to go to. -S.O., 8th Grade
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/6/2015
Avance has been my second home for the past 5 years. Here I learned the true meaning of an education. Avance gives students an opportunity for a better future. Many classes are offered such as AP Caluculus, AP US History, Mandarin, Robotics, and Life Prep. It is the teachers and staff who have made it possible for this school to function. At Avance there is always help. When you're struggling with classes they offer tutoring; or when you have a problem outside of school there is alway someone you can reach out to. Avance has always helped me gain confidence that I will do something positive after high school. Also that I will be successful in everything I will do. They strive to offer us a good education. I've seen the school grow immensely during the time I have attended and now I am excited to see what more the school's potential will keep bringing us. Thanks to Avance I know I will continue to grow and become a successful student here and in college. Thanks to all the Avanceros including teachers and staff for being a motivation to succeed. -A college ready student
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/6/2015
Academia Avance is a great school. It's small with a friendly and caring staff. Teachers do their best to help students, and offer extra credit when needed. Academia Avance also offers tutoring to those with F's and D's. On the other hand, it does lack after school/ extracurricular activities, and it's a bit unsanitary, but nothing that cant' be fixed. I'm a 10th grader and I've been in this school since 6th grade. Even though other schools offer more, I wouldn't leave. Nevertheless, it's a great school and I recommended it too many people.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/6/2015
I'm a 10th grade student, who attends to Academia Avance. I have attended this school since 7th grade. This school is truly one of the best school I've been to. To begin with, all the staff and teachers are helpful and encouraging. There is turturing to help every student, individually. Even though our campus is not big enough, we have the education need to attend college . Overall, Academia Avance Charter School is an outstanding school, acomer school that truly wants it's students to attend college and be successful in life.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   1/6/2015
I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   12/19/2014
As a junior who has been here since 6th grade, Avance has definitely taught me skills that I will undoubtedly use in college. At first, this school had little to no extracurricular activities and advanced courses. However, Avance now has a wider range of clubs and activities and an increase in honors and AP classes. In addition, Avance teaches you life skills and makes you as prepared for college as possible. This school doesn't not just aim at college, but pushes its students to go to 4-year universities. Most students reach this goal. The teachers at Avance are extremely interactive and helpful. If you have a problem, the teachers will help you as much as possible. Because the help of teachers, I feel like I will achieve my goals into getting into a good university and succeeding in there. Avance has a great amount of potential and can help a large amount of students achieve their goals. -A.W.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   12/19/2014
Hello I am a Junior attending this school. Throughout my time in this school I found that I grew as a student and feel ready to go to college. This school offers some of the best student and teacher interaction and I feel that all the teachers genuinely care about their students. Although not the perfect school I feel that it makes up for it with how well the teachers teach and the clubs that they offer. -MB
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc
5   12/19/2014
I am a 10th grade student at Academia Avance and I've been at Avance since I was in 6th grade. Avance has a lot of things to offer for students such as great programs and great teachers. Some programs offered are robotics and Mandarin that are not offered just anywhere. The teachers are always there to help students and answer any questions they may have. These elements help provide a path of success to all students who go to Academia Avance that includes going to college and will lead to a good career.
- Posted by Student/Alumni - avanc

Review Academia Avance Charter. Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
Rate this school:

Nearby Homes for Sale

Recent Articles

School Safety: Shootings
School Safety: Shootings
Teachers and parents must be prepared for anything that impacts the safety of our young people.
What are the Top High Schools in Boston?
What are the Top High Schools in Boston?
We review recent rankings from Boston Magazine that shows the top-rated high schools in this extensive school district.
An Overview of the Funding of Public Schools
An Overview of the Funding of Public Schools
Learn about how public schools are funded today and how the federal and local monies are allocated.

Quick Stats (2022)

  • School Type: Charter School
  • Grades: 6-12
  • Students: 293 students
  • Student:Teacher Ratio: 21:1
  • Minority Enrollment: 99%
  • Graduation Rate
    : 90-94% (Top 30% in CA)
  • Overall Testing Rank
    : Bottom 50%
  • Math Proficiency
    : 15-19% (Btm 50%)
  • Reading Proficiency
    : 30-34% (Btm 50%)
  • Diversity Score
    : 0.17

Related School Videos

Quick Links