Academia Avance Charter

  • Academia Avance Charter serves 474 students in grades 6-12.
  • The student:teacher ratio of 25:1 is higher than the CA average of 24:1.
  • Academia Avance Charter operates within the Los Angeles Unified School District.

School Overview

  • The student population of 474 students has grown by 5% over five years.
  • The teacher population of 19 teachers has declined by 24% over five years.
School TypeCharter School
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
Total Students474 students
Academia Avance Charter Total Students (2011-2015)
Gender %Academia Avance Charter Gender
Total Classroom Teachers19 teachers
Academia Avance Charter Total Teachers (2012-2015)
Students by GradeAcademia Avance Charter Student By Grade

School Comparison

This School(CA) School Average
Student : Teacher Ratio25:124:1
Academia Avance Charter Student Teacher Ratio (2012-2015)
American Indian
n/a
1%
Academia Avance Charter American Indian Students (2011-2012)
Hispanic
99%
54%
Academia Avance Charter Black Students (2011-2015)
Black
n/a
6%
Academia Avance Charter Black Students (2011-2012)
Two or more races
1%
3%
Academia Avance Charter Two Or More Races Students (2013-2015)
All Ethnic GroupsAcademia Avance Charter All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity BreakdownCA All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity Breakdown
Diversity Score
The chance that two students selected at random would be members of a different ethnic group. Scored from 0 to 1, a diversity score closer to 1 indicates a more diverse student body.
0.020.41
Academia Avance Charter Diversity Score (2011-2015)
Eligible for Free Lunch
Families meeting income eligibility guidelines may qualify for free and reduced price meals or free milk. These guidelines are used by schools, institutions, and facilities participating in the National School Lunch Program (and Commodity School Program), School Breakfast Program, Special Milk Program for Children, Child and Adult Care Food Program and Summer Food Service Program.
75%
50%
Academia Avance Charter Eligible for Free Lunch (2011-2015)
Eligible for Reduced
Lunch
Families meeting income eligibility guidelines may qualify for free and reduced price meals or free milk. These guidelines are used by schools, institutions, and facilities participating in the National School Lunch Program (and Commodity School Program), School Breakfast Program, Special Milk Program for Children, Child and Adult Care Food Program and Summer Food Service Program.
4%
9%
Academia Avance Charter Eligible for Reduced Lunch (2011-2015)

District Comparison

  • Los Angeles Unified School District's student population of 642,303 students has stayed relatively flat over five years.
  • The revenue/student of $12,903 is higher than the state average of $10,966. The district revenue/student has stayed relatively flat over four years.
  • The district's spending/student of $14,891 is higher than the state average of $11,255. The district spending/student has grown by 16% over four years.
School District NameLos Angeles Unified School District
Number of Schools
Managed
988
4
Number of Students Managed642,3031,597
Los Angeles Unified School District Students Managed (1990-2015)
District Total Revenue$8,437 MM$18 MM
Los Angeles Unified School District District Total Revenue (1996-2015)
District Spending$9,736 MM$18 MM
Los Angeles Unified School District District Spending (1996-2015)
District Revenue / Student$12,903$10,966
Los Angeles Unified School District District Revenue / Student (1995-2015)
District Spending / Student$14,891$11,255
Los Angeles Unified School District District Spending / Student (1995-2015)
School Statewide TestingView Education Department Test Scores
Source: 2015 (latest year available) NCES, CA Dept. of Education

Nearby Public Schools

 All Schools  High Schools High Schools  Middle Schools Middle Schools  Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  Private Schools Private Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Los AngelesMonte Vista Street Elementary School
    Grades: 2-6 | 438 students
    0.2 miles
    5423 Monte Vista St.
    Los AngelesCA 90042
    (323)254-7261
    0.22-6438
  • Los AngelesRichard Riordan Primary Center
    Grades: KG-1 | 251 students
    0.3 miles
    5531 Monte Vista St.
    Los AngelesCA 90042
    (323)551-6822
    0.3KG-1251
  • Los AngelesAldama Elementary School
    Grades: KG-6 | 608 students
    0.5 miles
    632 N. Ave. 50
    Los AngelesCA 90042
    (323)255-1434
    0.5KG-6608
  • Los AngelesArroyo Seco Museum Science Elementary SchoolAlternative School
    Magnet School
    Grades: KG-8 | 527 students
    0.5 miles
    4805 Sycamore Terr.
    Los AngelesCA 90042
    (323)254-5141
    0.5KG-8527
  • Los AngelesBenjamin Franklin Senior High SchoolMagnet School
    Grades: 9-12 | 1460 students
    0.6 miles
    820 N. Ave. 54
    Los AngelesCA 90042
    (323)550-2000
    0.69-121460

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
5  1/17/2015
Avance has met its expectations in that not only do more than ninety percent of students graduate high school, but also get accepted to big name universities, such as UCLA, UC Berkeley, and USC. Avance is not like traditional public schools; its sovereignty comes at a price. Avance is constantly faced with financial difficulties that often hinder day to day activities such as having an ample supply of textbooks, having a reliable internet connection, or having a limited number of junior varsity and varsity sports programs. Despite these financial constraints, Avance is succeeding in achieving its main goal and rivals that of the large public schools in the local area. I have been loyal to Avance for 6 years because I did not want to be the typical high school dropout story that is all too common in Highland Park. I knew that my parents wanted me to be greater and take advantage of the opportunities that they never had and Avance has granted me those opportunities. My experience at Avance has been unlike any other because of the opportunities that have been given to me as well as the support from the teachers and their dedication to their careers.
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
Avance: I personally think it's a great school even with its ups and downs. I like how it's a small school so it's easier for the teacher to get to know me. At times, they get me pissed but I understand why they do what they do. I like the clubs here like ASB. I like ASB because it looks good on my college. Going to college is my goal but I don't want to go to state or community college. I want to go to a university. Going to college is Avance's plan and my goal. This is the school that I need to succeed. Yes, at times the rules here can be strict, but still Avance is a great school and I am proud to be a part of it. -D.C., 8th Grade
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
I think that Avance is a great school to get a good education. All the Avance staff and teachers will give you more respect than any other school. Avance to one is about meeting new people and have an education to get in a good college. Even though Avance is not perfect like any other school, it gives us a goal to set our minds to to get to a great college to start a new beginning of a better life. My goal is to be at UCLA and thanks to Avance, they'll help me on what to do and be prepared to go to UCLA. That's why to me, avance is a good school to go to. -S.O., 8th Grade
- Posted by
5  1/6/2015
Avance has been my second home for the past 5 years. Here I learned the true meaning of an education. Avance gives students an opportunity for a better future. Many classes are offered such as AP Caluculus, AP US History, Mandarin, Robotics, and Life Prep. It is the teachers and staff who have made it possible for this school to function. At Avance there is always help. When you're struggling with classes they offer tutoring; or when you have a problem outside of school there is alway someone you can reach out to. Avance has always helped me gain confidence that I will do something positive after high school. Also that I will be successful in everything I will do. They strive to offer us a good education. I've seen the school grow immensely during the time I have attended and now I am excited to see what more the school's potential will keep bringing us. Thanks to Avance I know I will continue to grow and become a successful student here and in college. Thanks to all the Avanceros including teachers and staff for being a motivation to succeed. -A college ready student
- Posted by
5  1/6/2015
Academia Avance is a great school. It's small with a friendly and caring staff. Teachers do their best to help students, and offer extra credit when needed. Academia Avance also offers tutoring to those with F's and D's. On the other hand, it does lack after school/ extracurricular activities, and it's a bit unsanitary, but nothing that cant' be fixed. I'm a 10th grader and I've been in this school since 6th grade. Even though other schools offer more, I wouldn't leave. Nevertheless, it's a great school and I recommended it too many people.
- Posted by
5  1/6/2015
I'm a 10th grade student, who attends to Academia Avance. I have attended this school since 7th grade. This school is truly one of the best school I've been to. To begin with, all the staff and teachers are helpful and encouraging. There is turturing to help every student, individually. Even though our campus is not big enough, we have the education need to attend college . Overall, Academia Avance Charter School is an outstanding school, acomer school that truly wants it's students to attend college and be successful in life.
- Posted by
5  1/6/2015
I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
As a junior who has been here since 6th grade, Avance has definitely taught me skills that I will undoubtedly use in college. At first, this school had little to no extracurricular activities and advanced courses. However, Avance now has a wider range of clubs and activities and an increase in honors and AP classes. In addition, Avance teaches you life skills and makes you as prepared for college as possible. This school doesn't not just aim at college, but pushes its students to go to 4-year universities. Most students reach this goal. The teachers at Avance are extremely interactive and helpful. If you have a problem, the teachers will help you as much as possible. Because the help of teachers, I feel like I will achieve my goals into getting into a good university and succeeding in there. Avance has a great amount of potential and can help a large amount of students achieve their goals. -A.W.
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
Hello I am a Junior attending this school. Throughout my time in this school I found that I grew as a student and feel ready to go to college. This school offers some of the best student and teacher interaction and I feel that all the teachers genuinely care about their students. Although not the perfect school I feel that it makes up for it with how well the teachers teach and the clubs that they offer. -MB
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
I am a 10th grade student at Academia Avance and I've been at Avance since I was in 6th grade. Avance has a lot of things to offer for students such as great programs and great teachers. Some programs offered are robotics and Mandarin that are not offered just anywhere. The teachers are always there to help students and answer any questions they may have. These elements help provide a path of success to all students who go to Academia Avance that includes going to college and will lead to a good career.
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
Academia Avance is a great school. It's small with a friendly and caring staff. Teachers do their best to help students, and offer extra credit when needed. Academia Avance also offers tutoring to those with F's and D's. On the other hand, it does lack after school/ extracurricular activities, and it's a bit unsanitary, but nothing that cant' be fixed. I'm a 10th grader and I've been in this school since 6th grade. Even though other schools offer more, I wouldn't leave. Nevertheless, it's a great school and I recommended it too many people.
- Posted by
5  12/19/2014
I am a 10th grade student at Academia Avance and I've been at Avance since I was in 6th grade. Avance has a lot of things to offer for students such as great programs and great teachers. Some programs offered are robotics and Mandarin that are not offered just anywhere. The teachers are always there to help students and answer any questions they may have. These elements help provide a path of success to all students who go to Academia Avance that includes going to college and will lead to a good career.
- Posted by

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Rate this school:
Recent Articles
December 02, 2017
Children are reading less and less in this country, and the effects of that are showing in their performance in school. However, there are a variety of ways parents can encourage their children to read – and hopefully to love reading!
December 02, 2017
Often underfunded in the past, the arts are gaining a resurgence in support as research shows benefits for children academically, along with improvements in behavior and attendance.
December 02, 2017
The Common Core State Standards were developed as a means to prepare K-12 students for success in college or the workforce upon graduation from high school. Since their inception, they have been adopted by 43 states. While much support has been given for the standards, many criticisms have emerged as well.