Academia Avance Charter

  • Academia Avance Charter serves 437 students in grades 6-12.
  • The percentage of students achieving proficiency in Math is 12% (which is lower than the California state average of 37%) for the 2015-2016 school year. The percentage of students achieving proficiency in Reading/Language Arts is 27% (which is lower than the California state average of 48%) for the 2015-2016 school year.
  • Academia Avance Charter placed in the bottom 50% of all schools in California for overall test scores (math proficiency is bottom 50%, and reading proficiency is bottom 50%) for the 2015-2016 school year.
  • The student:teacher ratio of 26:1 is higher than the California state level of 24:1.
  • Academia Avance Charter operates within the Los Angeles Unified School District.
  • Los Angeles Unified School District's 77% graduation rate is lower than the California state average of 83%.

Top Placements (California)

Academia Avance Charter is Listed among the top public schools in California for:

School Overview

  • Academia Avance Charter's student population of 437 students has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
  • The teacher population of 17 teachers has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
School TypeCharter School
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
Total Students437 students
Gender %Academia Avance Charter Gender
Total Classroom Teachers17 teachers
Students by GradeAcademia Avance Charter Student By Grade

School Comparison

  • Academia Avance Charter is ranked within the bottom 50% of all 9595 schools in California (based off of combined Math and Reading proficiency testing data) for the 2015-2016 school year.
  • The school's student:teacher ratio of 26:1 has stayed the same over five school years.
  • The diversity score of Academia Avance Charter is 0.02, which is less than the diversity score at state average of 0.64. The school's diversity has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
Definition of Terms 2015-2016 School Year DataThis SchoolState Level (CA)
Math Test Scores (% Proficient)
12%
37%
Reading / Language Arts Test Scores (% Proficient)
27%
48%
Student : Teacher Ratio26:124:1
Hispanic
99%
54%
Two or more races
1%
4%
All Ethnic GroupsAcademia Avance Charter All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity BreakdownCA All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity Breakdown
Diversity Score0.020.64
Graduation Rate≥90%
83%
Eligible for Free Lunch
84%
50%
Eligible for Reduced Lunch
7%
9%

    District Comparison

    • The school district of Academia Avance Charter is Los Angeles Unified School District, which is ranked within the bottom 50% of all 983 school districts in California (based off of combined Math and Reading proficiency testing data) for the 2015-2016 school year.
    • Los Angeles Unified School District's student population of 633,165 students has stayed relatively flat over five school years.
    • The district's graduation rate of 77% has increased from 61% over five school years.
    • The revenue/student of $12,871 is higher than the state average of $11,049. The district revenue/student has stayed relatively flat over four school years.
    • The district's spending/student of $14,853 is higher than the state average of $11,340. The district spending/student has grown by 13% over four school years.
    School District NameLos Angeles Unified School District
    Number of Schools
    Managed
    1,020
    4
    Number of Students Managed633,1651,585
    Los Angeles Unified School District Students Managed (1988-2016)
    District Math Test Scores (% Proficient)
    28%
    37%
    District Reading / Language Arts Test Scores (% Proficient)
    38%
    48%
    District Graduation Rate
    77%
    83%
    District Total Revenue$8,437 MM$18 MM
    District Spending$9,736 MM$18 MM
    District Revenue / Student$12,871$11,049
    District Spending / Student$14,853$11,340
    School Statewide TestingView Education Department Test Scores
    Source: 2015-2016 (latest school year available) NCES, CA Dept. of Education

    Nearby Public Schools

    Show me:

    School Reviews

      5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
    5  1/17/2015
    Avance has met its expectations in that not only do more than ninety percent of students graduate high school, but also get accepted to big name universities, such as UCLA, UC Berkeley, and USC. Avance is not like traditional public schools; its sovereignty comes at a price. Avance is constantly faced with financial difficulties that often hinder day to day activities such as having an ample supply of textbooks, having a reliable internet connection, or having a limited number of junior varsity and varsity sports programs. Despite these financial constraints, Avance is succeeding in achieving its main goal and rivals that of the large public schools in the local area. I have been loyal to Avance for 6 years because I did not want to be the typical high school dropout story that is all too common in Highland Park. I knew that my parents wanted me to be greater and take advantage of the opportunities that they never had and Avance has granted me those opportunities. My experience at Avance has been unlike any other because of the opportunities that have been given to me as well as the support from the teachers and their dedication to their careers.
    - Posted by
    5  1/17/2015
    Avance: I personally think it's a great school even with its ups and downs. I like how it's a small school so it's easier for the teacher to get to know me. At times, they get me pissed but I understand why they do what they do. I like the clubs here like ASB. I like ASB because it looks good on my college. Going to college is my goal but I don't want to go to state or community college. I want to go to a university. Going to college is Avance's plan and my goal. This is the school that I need to succeed. Yes, at times the rules here can be strict, but still Avance is a great school and I am proud to be a part of it. -D.C., 8th Grade
    - Posted by
    5  1/17/2015
    I think that Avance is a great school to get a good education. All the Avance staff and teachers will give you more respect than any other school. Avance to one is about meeting new people and have an education to get in a good college. Even though Avance is not perfect like any other school, it gives us a goal to set our minds to to get to a great college to start a new beginning of a better life. My goal is to be at UCLA and thanks to Avance, they'll help me on what to do and be prepared to go to UCLA. That's why to me, avance is a good school to go to. -S.O., 8th Grade
    - Posted by
    5  1/6/2015
    Avance has been my second home for the past 5 years. Here I learned the true meaning of an education. Avance gives students an opportunity for a better future. Many classes are offered such as AP Caluculus, AP US History, Mandarin, Robotics, and Life Prep. It is the teachers and staff who have made it possible for this school to function. At Avance there is always help. When you're struggling with classes they offer tutoring; or when you have a problem outside of school there is alway someone you can reach out to. Avance has always helped me gain confidence that I will do something positive after high school. Also that I will be successful in everything I will do. They strive to offer us a good education. I've seen the school grow immensely during the time I have attended and now I am excited to see what more the school's potential will keep bringing us. Thanks to Avance I know I will continue to grow and become a successful student here and in college. Thanks to all the Avanceros including teachers and staff for being a motivation to succeed. -A college ready student
    - Posted by
    5  1/6/2015
    Academia Avance is a great school. It's small with a friendly and caring staff. Teachers do their best to help students, and offer extra credit when needed. Academia Avance also offers tutoring to those with F's and D's. On the other hand, it does lack after school/ extracurricular activities, and it's a bit unsanitary, but nothing that cant' be fixed. I'm a 10th grader and I've been in this school since 6th grade. Even though other schools offer more, I wouldn't leave. Nevertheless, it's a great school and I recommended it too many people.
    - Posted by
    5  1/6/2015
    I'm a 10th grade student, who attends to Academia Avance. I have attended this school since 7th grade. This school is truly one of the best school I've been to. To begin with, all the staff and teachers are helpful and encouraging. There is turturing to help every student, individually. Even though our campus is not big enough, we have the education need to attend college . Overall, Academia Avance Charter School is an outstanding school, acomer school that truly wants it's students to attend college and be successful in life.
    - Posted by
    5  1/6/2015
    I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.I am currently a Junior attending this school and I have to say this school is actually quite interesting in many fields. The main field of interest would be that the teachers at this school put in 100% of their effort to get you to keep up your grades and to inspire you to get into a 4 year college which, in other schools, is very hard to find. I am very thankful for being put in this school because it has inspired me to go on to college and I hope others will attend this school as well.
    - Posted by
    5  12/19/2014
    As a junior who has been here since 6th grade, Avance has definitely taught me skills that I will undoubtedly use in college. At first, this school had little to no extracurricular activities and advanced courses. However, Avance now has a wider range of clubs and activities and an increase in honors and AP classes. In addition, Avance teaches you life skills and makes you as prepared for college as possible. This school doesn't not just aim at college, but pushes its students to go to 4-year universities. Most students reach this goal. The teachers at Avance are extremely interactive and helpful. If you have a problem, the teachers will help you as much as possible. Because the help of teachers, I feel like I will achieve my goals into getting into a good university and succeeding in there. Avance has a great amount of potential and can help a large amount of students achieve their goals. -A.W.
    - Posted by
    5  12/19/2014
    Hello I am a Junior attending this school. Throughout my time in this school I found that I grew as a student and feel ready to go to college. This school offers some of the best student and teacher interaction and I feel that all the teachers genuinely care about their students. Although not the perfect school I feel that it makes up for it with how well the teachers teach and the clubs that they offer. -MB
    - Posted by
    5  12/19/2014
    I am a 10th grade student at Academia Avance and I've been at Avance since I was in 6th grade. Avance has a lot of things to offer for students such as great programs and great teachers. Some programs offered are robotics and Mandarin that are not offered just anywhere. The teachers are always there to help students and answer any questions they may have. These elements help provide a path of success to all students who go to Academia Avance that includes going to college and will lead to a good career.
    - Posted by
    5  12/19/2014
    Academia Avance is a great school. It's small with a friendly and caring staff. Teachers do their best to help students, and offer extra credit when needed. Academia Avance also offers tutoring to those with F's and D's. On the other hand, it does lack after school/ extracurricular activities, and it's a bit unsanitary, but nothing that cant' be fixed. I'm a 10th grader and I've been in this school since 6th grade. Even though other schools offer more, I wouldn't leave. Nevertheless, it's a great school and I recommended it too many people.
    - Posted by
    5  12/19/2014
    I am a 10th grade student at Academia Avance and I've been at Avance since I was in 6th grade. Avance has a lot of things to offer for students such as great programs and great teachers. Some programs offered are robotics and Mandarin that are not offered just anywhere. The teachers are always there to help students and answer any questions they may have. These elements help provide a path of success to all students who go to Academia Avance that includes going to college and will lead to a good career.
    - Posted by

    Review Academia Avance Charter. Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

    • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
    • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities

    I am a:

    Name or Alias:

    Your review:

    Rate this school:
    Recent Articles
    September 17, 2018
    Public schools are far from perfect, but they still offer significant benefits to the students that attend their classrooms every day. We’ll list a few of those advantages here.
    August 29, 2018
    Childhood obesity rates continue to climb. While many public schools have implemented policies and programs to combat the problem, there is always more to be done. Keep reading to learn what schools are doing to prevent obesity and how you can help.
    August 28, 2018
    Food allergies are no laughing matter and it doesn't take long for them to become dangerous. Keep reading to learn how to keep your child safe at school if he has a food allergy.