Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School

4.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
4050 Crums Mill Road, Suite 30

Harrisburg, PA 17112

Tel: (717)651-7200
  • Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School serves 8,877 students in grades KG-12.
  • The student:teacher ratio of 26:1 is higher than the PA average of 15:1.
  • Minority enrollment is 32% of the student body (majority Black), which is equal to the state average of 32%.
  • Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School operates within the Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District.

School Overview

  • The student population of 8877 students has grown by 33% over five years.
  • The teacher population of 341 teachers has grown by 27% over five years.
School TypeCharter School
Grades OfferedGrades KG-12
Total Students8,877 students
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Total Students (2006-2016)
Gender %Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Gender
Total Classroom Teachers341 teachers
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Total Teachers (2006-2016)
Students by GradeCommonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Student By Grade

School Comparison

  • The student:teacher ratio of 26:1 has increased from 25:1 over five years.
  • The school's diversity score of 0.50 is less than the state average of 0.51. The school's diversity has stayed relatively flat over five years.
This School(PA) School Average
Student : Teacher Ratio26:115:1
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Student Teacher Ratio (2005-2015)
Asian
1%
4%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Asian Students (2006-2016)
Hispanic
10%
10%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Black Students (2006-2016)
Black
16%
15%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Black Students (2006-2016)
White
68%
68%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School White Students (2006-2016)
Two or more races
5%
3%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Two Or More Races Students (2011-2016)
All Ethnic GroupsCommonwealth Connections Academy Charter School All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity BreakdownPA All Ethnic Groups Ethnicity Breakdown
Diversity Score0.500.51
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Diversity Score (2006-2016)
Eligible for Free Lunchn/a
44%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Eligible for Free Lunch (2010-2015)
Eligible for Reduced Lunchn/a
3%
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School Eligible for Reduced Lunch (2010-2015)

District Comparison

  • Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District's student population of 8,877 students has grown by 33% over five years.
  • The revenue/student of $6,323 in this district is less than the state average of $12,995. The district revenue/student has declined by 46% over four years.
  • The district's spending/student of $5,851 is less than the state average of $12,863. The district spending/student has declined by 50% over four years.
School District NameCommonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District
Number of Schools
Managed
1
3
Number of Students Managed8,8771,470
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District Students Managed (2006-2016)
District Total Revenue$42 MM$19 MM
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District District Total Revenue (2006-2016)
District Spending$39 MM$19 MM
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District District Spending (2006-2016)
District Revenue / Student$6,323$12,995
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District District Revenue / Student (2006-2016)
District Spending / Student$5,851$12,863
Commonwealth Connections Academy Charter School District District Spending / Student (2006-2016)
School Statewide TestingView Education Department Test Scores
Source: 2016 (latest year available) NCES, PA Dept. of Education

Nearby Public Schools

 All Schools  High Schools High Schools  Middle Schools Middle Schools  Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  Preschools Preschools  Private Schools Private Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • HarrisburgNorth Side Elementary SchoolCharter School
    Grades: KG-5 | 620 students
    0.9 miles
    4520 Devonshire Rd
    HarrisburgPA 17109
    (717)657-3201
    0.9KG-5620
  • HarrisburgSusquehanna Township High SchoolCharter School
    Grades: 9-12 | 829 students
    1 miles
    3500 Elmerton Ave
    HarrisburgPA 17109
    (717)657-5117
    19-12829
  • HarrisburgSara Lindemuth Elementary SchoolCharter School
    Grades: KG-2 | 628 students
    1.1 miles
    1201 N Progress Ave
    HarrisburgPA 17109
    (717)657-5122
    1.1KG-2628
  • HarrisburgCentral Dauphin Middle SchoolCharter School
    Grades: 6-8 | 722 students
    1.7 miles
    4600 Locust Lane
    HarrisburgPA 17109
    (717)540-4606
    1.76-8722
  • HarrisburgMountain View Elementary SchoolCharter School
    Grades: KG-5 | 390 students
    1.8 miles
    400 Gibbel Rd
    HarrisburgPA 17112
    (717)657-8585
    1.8KG-5390

School Reviews

  4.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
1  2/26/2018
I've been with CCA for 3 years now. I am very glad we chose this option. I love knowing exactly what my kids are learning and watching them progress throughout each school year. I am blessed to have had these years with my kids. Due to living in a rural area, we have decided to send our kids to the local public school next year. The education they are recieving and the support from CCA is wonderful. It is just impossible for us to get our kids the socialization and well rounded life they need while being home all of the time. But I know CCA will be there for us if we need and am grateful to them.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
When my son was in 1st grade at a brick and mortar school, he had a terrifying experience that would shape the way he felt about learning. He came home with bruises after being bullied. The school did nothing. After that day, my son hated school and I worried about my son's safety. To me, that is not how a child's learning experience should go. Two years ago, as we considered various educational opportunities, we came across Commonwealth Connections Academy while researching online public schools on the internet. We were impressed by the various clubs and activities, numerous field trips, and wide array of elective courses. Not once, have I regretted our decision to enroll with Connections Academy. They have truly been a blessing in our lives. My timid son has come out of his shell and looks forward to visiting friends during field trips. He is excelling! The staff, from enrollment to teachers and learning support to computer technicians, is knowledgeable and friendly. When I requested testing for learning disabilities, my request was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Throughout the entire process, I knew they had my son's best interests at heart! I have also found the teachers to be accessible and quick to respond to questions. They allow my son the extra time he needs to complete assignments and have worked together with me to find ways for him to express his thoughts in ways in which he excels. The flexible schedule is another invaluable part of the Connections Academy learning experience. It allows us to take a break when my son gets frustrated with a lesson or to switch to another subject for awhile. As someone who has pain on a daily basis from fibromyalgia, it allows me to be a part of my son's learning experience without having the stress of lesson planning and documentation for the state that would be necessary for homeschooling. It is the professionalism, knowledge, and dedication to their students and ensuring that the students have the tools they need to learn and grow that continues to keep us with CCA. Thank you, CCA for your dedication to quality education that allows children to soar! We look forward to the years ahead as we continue to be a part of the CCA family!
- Posted by
5  6/1/2012
I am a parent of a high school student at Commonwealth Connections Academy. This school has helped by daughter gain more confidence and independence with her school work. At her previous school district, social distractions dominated over academic skills and success. The teachers are excellent and very helpful. My daughter is earning better grades and being prepared for college. I would highly recommend Commonwealth Connections Academy!
- Posted by
5  1/19/2012
I have used CA for my DD (now 7), since K. We are now half way through 2nd grade, and I am very satisfied with it. I chose CA due to my ex wanting DD to go to a public school and me wanting to home school. CA is the perfect mix of the two, and I will highly recommend it for any parent who is bound by court orders and bull-headed exes. The curriculum is a little easy so I supplement with other activities. But DD at the age of 6 was playing chess and learning Spanish, this year we are learning French and music. The school sends us all the books and equipment needed, and our teacher is wonderful. We are in contact almost every day either by email or call. We are required by state to have 5 hours of 'educational instruction' and the school is very flexible with what this includes. We have counted roller-skating, farmer's market trips, grocery shopping, cooking, and many other things as school. I will say that we do not have as much freedom as traditional homeschooling. I can't switch programs if I don't like it, we can't jump ahead to what she already knows and go from there. However, I also have the freedom that comes with not going to a bricks & mortar school. We can breeze through ten lessons in an hour if she understands it already, no sitting through the whole class. The teachers are very good at finding something that does not click with us. We didn't like their typing program, so we asked for a substitute. We got one and this one clicked! The teachers are good at letting us know what is needed for finishing out the year. They are also good at accommodating different religions and beliefs, as the lessons are taught by the parents or learning coach. CA also offers many opportunities for field trips and clubs for the students. Socialization is not a problem. All in all, I'm glad I found CA and will recommend it to anyone!
- Posted by

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Rate this school:
Recent Articles
May 17, 2018
For some students, attending college immediately after high school is not the right choice. Keep reading to learn more about the pros and cons of this decision and to learn about some alternative options.
May 17, 2018
Libraries, quiet rooms, and focused subjects are not actually conducive to smart studying! Learn about the new research that proves conventional wisdom about studying wrong.
April 05, 2018
Every year, standardized tests reveal that public school performance is woefully low. Yet you pay taxes to fund public education, so where does that money go? Keep reading to find out how much it really costs to educate your child.
Did You Know?
Pennsylvania public schools have a diversity score of 0.51, which is lower than the national average of 0.52. The most diverse school district in Pennsylvania is York Academy Regional Charter School District. Read more about public school diversity statistics in Pennsylvania or national school diversity statistics.